Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

Hajipur H.Q.


News Updates


Contact Us

Supplier Information

Goto Yahoo!!

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page



Ever since its formation on 1st October 2002, East Central Railway has been galloping fast and climbing the ladders of progress step by step. The zone is administratively divided into 5 Divisions - Dhanbad, Danapur, Pt. Deen Dayal Upadhyaya (old name Mughal Sarai) Divisions of erstwhile Eastern Railway and Sonpur & Samastipur Divisions of erstwhile North Eastern Railway. In the 21st year, the new-born child, crossing the period of adolescence is now entering the adulthood, creating records, and achieving many firsts.

Rail network comprising 9,013 Track Kilometres (TKM) and 4,238 Route Kilometres (RKM) of which 100% Route Kilometres (RKM) is fully electrified, this zone serves the major portion of Bihar & Jharkhand and minor parts of Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh. Our major challenge is to ensure uninterrupted supply of coal to the various power houses located far & wide and at the same time meet the transportation needs of the large and dense population dwelling in the fertile Gangetic plains.

To keep the heritage alive and make the people aware of past glories, a heritage park “Dharohar Gram” in the precincts of head quarter has been opened featuring locomotives of the bygone era – One BG steam Engine is brought from the erstwhile Rohtas Industries Ltd. and another NG Steam Engine from Sugar Mill, Hathua.

Source : East Central Railways / Indian Railways Portal CMS Team Last Reviewed : 07-05-2024  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.